Medicine, Materials, Energy and Environment



Executive Director: John Root

(306) 966-3376 (Fedoruk Centre); (613) 584-8297 (Canadian Neutron Beam Centre)

John Root

Dr. John Root received his PhD from the University of Guelph in 1986, after developing a way to measure quantum effects in the structure of water and other liquids. He joined Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), where he developed a method to map stresses inside materials using a beam of neutrons from the NRU reactor at Chalk River Laboratories. This method has been copied at neutron-beam laboratories around the world, and is applied to help industries improve their products, and expand their businesses. Dr. Root has published 105 articles in refereed journals, produced 75 protected reports, and delivered over 100 invited presentations.

In 2003, Dr. Root was appointed as Director of the National Research Council’s Canadian Neutron Beam Centre (CNBC), which is comprised of six neutron spectrometers, supported by a team of expert researchers and technicians, and managed as an international user facility. Under Dr. Root’s leadership, the specialized facilities and expertise of the CNBC have been shaped to support business innovation and serve as resources for Canadians to train and work at the leading edge of science and technology. Each year, over 200 scientists, engineers and students from universities, government labs and industry participate in research depending on access to the CNBC. Over a five-year period, CNBC research participants typically include more than 700 individuals from over 60 departments in about 30 Canadian universities and from over 100 foreign institutions in over 20 countries. The CNBC enables industrial research in sectors such as nuclear energy, aerospace, automotive, oil and gas, defence and primary metal production.

In 2011, Dr. Root established the Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation and served as the organization's Interim Executive Director until June, 2014. He served as Chair of the Fedoruk Centre's Board of Directors from 2015-2016. Dr. Root was elected as a Fellow of the Neutron Scattering Society of America in 2016.


Senior Executive Assistant, Board Secretary: Niki Schrie

(306) 966-3377 (Fedoruk Centre); (613) 584-8293 (Canadian Neutron Beam Centre)

Niki Schrie is the Operations Manager for the Canadian Neutron Beam Centre (CNBC), since 1998.    Prior to that, she was employed by Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) for five years.  Niki reports to the Director of the CNBC and is responsible for human resources, financial and facility operational actions as well as compliance with processes pertaining to the safety and security of Canada’s neutron beam laboratory, encompassing approximately 20 staff and 200 users of the CNBC on an annual basis.  Niki also serves as Secretary-Treasurer to the Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering (CINS) and from 2008-2010 she completed the Human Resources Management Program at Carleton University.


Acting Facility Manager, Saskatchewan Centre for Cyclotron Sciences: Dale Schick-Martin

(306) 966-3388


Cyclotron Engineer: Dale Schick-Martin

(306) 966-3388

Dale Schick-Martin


Safety and Compliance Officer: Debbie Frattinger

(306) 966-3395


Senior Production Technologist: Jenelle MacKenzie

(306) 966-3390

Jenelle MacKenzie


Research Wing Coordinator: Jacqueline Cawthray

(306) 966-3389


Production Technologist: Kalum Jayawardhana

(306) 966-3387


Production Technologist: Amber Thomas

(306) 966-3387


Production Technologist: Emily Sterling

(306) 966-3387