Medicine, Materials, Energy and Environment


Engin Özberk

Chair of the Board

Mr. Engin Özberk is the Senior Technical Advisor with the International Minerals Innovation Institute. He joined IMII in June 2013, after retiring from Cameco Corporation in March 2013 where he was the Vice President, Technology and Innovation. He joined Cameco in February 1997. He previously worked as Consulting Metallurgist for Sherritt International Corporation, Alberta (1988-97); as Senior Project Manager and Senior Process Engineer for The SNC Group, (1979-88); as Research Engineer for Noranda Technology Centre, Quebec, (1974-76); and as Project Engineer for Etibank, Turkey, (1973). He has more than 40 years of research and development and project management experience in light metals, base metals and nuclear industries. He has lead or participated in numerous major metallurgical and chemical engineering projects in practically every continent. He obtained his Master of Eng., Metallurgical Engineering (1979) and Post Graduate Diploma in Management (1978), both from McGill University, Montreal, Quebec.

Mr. Özberk has authored or coauthored more than 45 papers and is a Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (CIM) Fellow (1994). He is a recipient of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (CIM) Distinguished Lecturer Award (2009), and CIM's Silver Medal (1997), The Airey Award (Xstrata) (2011), and the Alcan Award (2006) from the Metallurgical Society of CIM. He has also received the Communication and Education Award (2007) from the Canadian Nuclear Society and the Extractive Metallurgy Science Award (1988) from the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society of AIME of USA.

In addition to serving on the Fedoruk Centre's Board of Directors, Mr. Özberk also serves on numerous Boards and advisory committees, including: the Board of Directors, Canada Mining Innovation Council, where he served as the President and Chairman (2008-2012) and is one of the 3 founding members; CANMET-MMSL Green Mining Initiative Board of Directors (since 2009), currently as Co-Chair; the NSERC Research Partnerships Program's Advisory Committee on University-Industry Grants (ACUIG) (appointed in 2011); the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences Board of Directors, (PIMS) (since 2009, serving second 3 year term); the Advisory Board of the University of Saskatchewan's Toxicology Centre (since 2008); The Business Development Advisory Committee (BDAC) for the Canadian Light Source (since 2008); and as a member of the Mining Association of Canada's Science Committee (since 2008). He was the co-chair of the steering committee for IMII (2009-13) and is one of the three founding members. He also served as the co-chair of the Technical Advisory Committee of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology Cameco Chair for Nuclear Fuel (2007-12) and as a member of the University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering (UNENE) executive committee (2006-12).

Mr. Özberk has served on the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (CIM) board of directors, as President of the Metallurgical Society of CIM (1991), and member of the executive team and board of directors of the Metallurgical Society of CIM for many years. He has also chaired numerous international conferences, symposia, and professional development courses in Canada and abroad, as well as being the guest/invited speaker or lecturer at conferences and numerous universities.